??From FM to the Web (without web publishing)??

This topic is 7112 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

This post is mostly to inform myself on the capabilities of FMP. I am the current web designer at our small company. The company would like to have more interaction on our site such as sorting tables by date, product type, product serial number. There is a possibility of having an online shopping cart but at present no prices are to be posted on the site hence no online shopping. Other uses of interaction are forms to fill out to apply for courses or events. I have spoken to the IT department and they want all of this to work with Filemaker. I am fairly new to Filemaker. I've been using it for about a year now and have been able to set up databases and publish them to the web via CDML. (we have server 5 and I set things up on file maker pro 6) Our platform is Mac OS X 10.3 I have been reading that Filemaker 7 has depricated CDML and now uses XML to deliver information to the web.

A few of my questions are

Is it possible (or worthwile) to change my CDML/HTML code to XML with my existing setup?

Is there a better way to publish pages to the web using our current setup?

By trait I am not a programmer (although I have dabbled with programming in the past) but am willing to learn what it takes to get this solution to work. I would like to try to stay with industry standards. Any information regarding this topic is greatly appreciated. Also if there are any resources or books that are of help I thank you in advance.

I am already going through filemaker's XML user forum and try to frequently read post on fmforums.