Server Maintenance This Week. ×

Learning More about FileMaker, Plug-Ins, Etc.

This topic is 7052 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Hi There

I have self-taught myself with the FileMaker help and this forum about FileMaker Pro. However, my knowledge ends there. I want to learn everything, including:

- Programming (C++ ??)

- Building Plug-Ins

- Interacting with the Computer

- Web, Email, Fax, SMS, Telephone Possibilities, etc, etc.

Where do I start. I am committed to broadening my knowledge over the next 5 years. Can anyone suggest what I should learn and in what order. I could easily assign 20 hrs/week x 40wks/year x 5 years = 4000 hours to this. Can it be intrinsically be done?

I probably haven't made it clear what I wan't to achieve, as I don't really know. All I do know is I am limited by the lack of knowledge and want to have the control to do as much as I can with FileMaker, which makes me think I need to know more about my Mac, Programming, Etc.

Any pointers would be most helpful, so I can start to structure a plan of action.

Thanks - Peter

Honestly, I've found that it's difficult to learn a technology until you have a problem that the technology can solve. Therefore, I'll begin with what each technology you've mentioned is good for.

Programming (C++): Actually, by using FileMaker, and especially scripting and calculations, you're already programming. If you're interested in learning a more complete proceedural or object oriented programming language, since you use a Mac, I would suggest AppleScript as a good starting point. While the language itself won't transfer to the Windows platform, the concepts of programming (variables, loops, functions, objects) will be useful when you learn other languages.