Server Maintenance This Week. ×

multi-criteria relationship in portal not working

julesw

This topic is 7002 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

hi there,

i am very new to portals, and not a trained developer by a long shot, so please bear with me...

i work for a small independent newspaper. we have a large contacts database, in which i have added a table to track content in the paper (editorial and advertising).

i want to link these up, so it's possible to see what articles were sent by a particular company, or what advertising they have done.

i have two tables: contacts (the parent i think?) and content (the child?).

because i need to be able to store the article information separately from the advertising, i have created two different relationships.

the contacts database auto-enters a unique ID for each record.

i have created a field in the content table where this can be entered.

the contact database also has a field called 'contributor' (a checkbox which is selected if they have sent us articles), and i have created a field by the same name in content, which is a calculation field that produces the word contributor if the item description is one of a few values (eg article, picture story etc).

i have got the same kind of set up for advertisers - a checkbox in the contacts database saying 'advertiser' and a calculation field in the content table which produces 'advertiser' if the item type is ad, promotion, logo etc.

i have created two relationships:

the first is called 'article content' and uses the contributor match and the ID number match

the second is called 'ad content' and uses the advertiser match and the ID number match.

for some reason, these are not working - or, i should say, working intermittently.

that is, i set all this up in a copy of the database file, and it seemed to eventually work.

but when i copied the exact same solution into the real database, it didnt.