Is this right?

tomp

This topic is 7007 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

I'm new in FM7 and trying to understand TO's and the relationship graph in general. I'm starting to like it!

My question:

I have a table with 35 calculated fields - one for each day in a 5 week period. Each record in the table is a rental unit. Each of the 35 calculated fields is displayed on a report layout displaying for each day whether a rental is starting, continuing, the unit is available, or out of service

The value of each calculated field depends, among other things, on what is found in a related table for the date/rental unit. The related table contains rental records.

I'm defining 35 relationships - one for each calculated field - from the date/rental unit in the source table to the date/rental unit in the 2nd table.

It looks like I'll need 35 TO's of the 2nd table??

Is that correct?

Tomp, I sure hope you don't need 35 TO's. (BTW, if you're on 7 now, change your profile, please.) I think you need three tables: Renter, Rentalunit, Renter_Rentalunit (the join table). This latter table would have a date range. The Rentalunit table would have options for starting, continuing, availability, and out_of_service (which can be automatically set).

I guess I didn't make myself clear. I do have the 3 tables Transpower suggested (there are actually 28 file in the FM6 solution that I'm redesigning for FM7)

The rentalunit table has a record for each rentable unit. The 'join' table contains 'contracts' for each of the rentable units with start and end dates. For this report, I don't care about the renter.