Portal with freetext boxes

dstichbury

This topic is 6990 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Hi there,

The portal I'm using is for use at the user end of our database. People enter timesheet information creating new rows for each job they do. - very simple!

The problem I'm having is that we need to include a page worth of free-text description boxes that pertain to each entry into the portal, which ideally should be entered from within the same database.

If i have my portal on one layout, is there anyway of having a button that can switch to another layout which has the free text boxes layed out, and these boxes relate to one specific row on the portal.

I've started trying to create a script which copies the unique job ID number that is created when a new job is made, then switching layouts and somehow searching under Job ID so the pertinent text boxes are displayed.

I'm pretty new to filemaker/databases so idiot-proof descriptions might be needed!

many thanks

Hi,

I see you are using FM5 so I assume your individual records for the timetable entries reside in a different file than the one where you are entering the information through the portal. On what is the relationship based of the two files ? For this example, I'll use the filenames "Main" and "Entries", where Main is the file from which you create the records through the portal to Entries, and Entries is... well, you probably get it. wink.gif

Normally, you can achieve what you want very simply by creating the layout with the large text area in "Entries" and then put a button in the first row of the portal in "Main". Make sure the button fits well into the boundaries of that first row. If you switch to "Browse" mode, the button should be visible in all rows. If that is the case, good, if not, modify the dimensions of the button to fit the row height.