Newbies details Posted September 5, 2001 Newbies Posted September 5, 2001 Hello--I am new to FileMaker (from Excel) and am trying to set up a function (I believe) that will tell me someone if a member. For example: I have a membrship database where under "Member Type" I have set up 5 radio buttons with our different types of membership. On a differnet layout I want to track those members (and others) who attend our annual conference. On the 2nd layout I want to put a field that will look at the "Membership Type" field and return a "yes" if one of the radio butoons is clicked or a "no" if none of them are clicked. What is the best way to do this? Much thanks, in advance!
Fuper Posted September 6, 2001 Posted September 6, 2001 Calculation field equals: If (IsEmpty (Member_type, "", "yes") You are checking whether a single set of conditions exists, so use 'If'. (For multiple situations, use the 'Case' function.) IsEmpty returns true if the field contains no value, and the calc will return a null string; otherwise it returns "yes". Remember to choose "text" as the result type of the calc.
Newbies details Posted September 6, 2001 Author Newbies Posted September 6, 2001 Thanks for the reply. I have tried what you mentioned but it keeps telling me that the "field cannot be found." I picked that field off the list so not sure what to do know. Here is what I put in--2001 Membership Type is the filed. When it says it cannot find the field it only highlights Membership Type and the hyphen before it. Do I have something set up wrong with that field? If (IsEmpty (2001_Membership_Type, "no", "yes") Any suggestions?
Vaughan Posted September 6, 2001 Posted September 6, 2001 Look in the list of functions in the calculation dialog: I'll bet the delimiter character is semicolon, not comma. Type the calculation again only use a semicolon.
SteveB Posted September 6, 2001 Posted September 6, 2001 If you actually typed in FM what you have in your thread, it should red: IF(IsEmpty(_Membership),"Yes","No")
Newbies details Posted September 7, 2001 Author Newbies Posted September 7, 2001 Thanks everybody for all your help. I figured it out. My problem was the field name. It would not recognize starting the field with "2001." Once I changed the field name it worked perfectly. Here is what my calc field reads now. If(IsEmpty(Membership Type 2001), "no", "yes") Thanks again--one headache gone!!
Vaughan Posted September 7, 2001 Posted September 7, 2001 Ahhh yes. FMP even gives a warning that field names starting with digits or containing certain characters won't work in calculations, but it's amazing how often it goes unheeded.
Recommended Posts
This topic is 8550 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.
Create an account or sign in to comment
You need to be a member in order to leave a comment
Create an account
Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!
Register a new accountSign in
Already have an account? Sign in here.
Sign In Now