Server Maintenance This Week. ×

E-mail with xslt function needs to be dynamic

Hope Ray

This topic is 6542 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Previous I asked if anyone had any examples on how to e-mail with XSLT. Martin sent me the test_email example and I can make it work but I have problem. I want user to enter information in the a form. This form adds and new record. One of the fields that is added is the customers e-mail address. I want to take that e-mail address from the form and send the person an e-mail. All the code I see hear lets you dynamically change the subject and the body but none let the sender name be added dynamic. This is a huge problem for everyone of my applications. I will not know who the e-mail needs to go to until the user fills in the form. Does anybody have an example of this. I'm just learning xml/xsl. Any and all help will be a life saver for me.

Thanks

Hope

Martin, I'm sure you here this a lot but you are great! That works perfectly. I wanted to respond to this post because it gives me a chance to explain what I was able to do. I have a FM7Advanced server that host my FM7 database. I was able to turn in Instant Web publishing but I couldn't send an e-mail. But thanks to Martin, I was able to combined IWP AND CWP and it works fantastic. I now send e-mails from my IWP with the xsl stylesheet. This is something that should be known for all FM developers because it saves a lot of time to just turn on IWP. I'm still struggling a bit with the e-mail functio because I also want to be able to cc people in the e-mail and I don't see where Filemaker gives a good example using all of the smtp fields. So Martin once again thank you, and if you have any cc examples pulling dynamically from fields please let me. If anyone wants examples of how I've done this I will be happen to give a examples.

Hope

• 1 month later...