Recursive Calculations

This topic is 6697 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

I am relatively new to database development and find that I have dived into it head first with a full major project in the works already. While I've learned a huge amount in only 13 months, I discover almost daily that I am lacking some critical understanding required to make further progress and refinements.

Recently I discovered the power of recursive calculations, however, I am struggling with the logic required to actually write them. Is there somewhere I can get a sound and easy to understand tutorial on writing recursive calcs?

Or, maybe, I'm even lacking in an inderstanding of what a recursive calc actually IS...

Thanks in advance!

Nathan

The only way to really get a recursive calc is to use a custom function. You need FM7 Developer or FM8 Advanced to add and edit custom functions. But they can be a big help with certain types of problems.

If you have FM7 Developer, or FM8 Advanced, or you just want to learn more about the power of custom functions, check out the discussions, samples, and resources in the Custom Functions forum.

AND you can do pseudo-recursion within Let() :yep:

HAH!!! I thought your 'repeating' was like the 'custom function' issue - just turning into a link because of the name. I expected it to jump me to a section instead of displaying spoiler!!

:giggle: God, I needed humor today! Thanks! :giggle:

Edited by Guest

Thanks for the links etc. I know that custom functions are how recursion is pulled off. I have Dev7 and am working in Pro8 now. I cannot justify 8Advanced just yet but I'm trying.