displaying text/data from another file, but storing it as an ID #

beverson

This topic is 8298 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

Okay, I'm pretty new at this, so this probably isn't terribly difficult I just can't get it to work. I have three files -- a main file containing records of sources for news stories, a second file containing a list of states, and a third file containing a list of "areas of expertise." The states and areas of expertise files are simply lists of the obvious with reference ID #s assigned to them (Alababma is 1, Alaska is 2, etc.). The state file also has postal abbreviations. I have two separate but similar problems:

-- I want to be able to specify multiple areas of expertise for each source, but I want to store that information simply as the ref # assigned to each area in the related file. I have been able to get the main file to read and display the value list from the related "areas..." file as checkboxes on the layout, but then it tries to store the actual text value ("Aging," "Affirmative Action") instead of the ref. number (1, 2). I need it to store the number instead because we will eventually be exporting this data to a SQL server for use online and I need simpler data (ref #s) in the Areas of Expertise field instead of just putting the text in there.

-- I would like to display the state as the full name of the state, but store it as either the postal abbreviation or the ref #...since each state field will only have one state in it as opposed to multiple areas of expertise like above, using the abbreviation will be fine. Again, I can get the pull-down menu on the layout to show the full name of the state (or the abbreviation for that matter), but I can't get the main data file to store the alternate format for the selected value.