2 related questions re: change out part of a field via script & how info is stored

This topic is 6584 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Hello--

Background: I am trying to develop a database for faculty contracts & attendance. The dept already has one that has hobbled along since FM4 and has a great deal of issues. The goal is the database I am in charge of developing will replace the current one and will be able to grow etc. Although I have database experience, I am new to Filemaker. (version is 8.02 and using both Mac & PC).

I have several tables. People and Account are 2 of them. I have a relationship from People::acct to Accounts::c_Chartfield (this chartfield is a calculated field). I have data in the account- basically 5 parts that make up the 25 or so character account number (AKA chartfield string). Every year one component of the 5 parts changes to reflect the fiscal year (ie AAD05 will change to AAD06 on June 30).

Question:

- I want to be able to change all AAD0X to AAD06 --how would I set up a button so that the end user could perform that?

- When we need to change the year, would it be better to just change the existing records or make new records in the accounts table? ----I want to keep the information that was previously entered for last year

For example, Professor Smith is paid out of 60190-AAD05-29900-blah-Blah for this year. When the fiscal year changes, I don’t want this record to change.

But if Professor Smith has a new contract for 2006 fiscal year, then the user will enter one with the new account number 60190-AAD06-29900-blah- blah.

I hope I am being clear… I am in desperate need of coffee and/or sleep.

Attached: relationship and acct data images for clarification.

Thanks bunches

relationship.jpg

acctdata.jpg

It would help us to know what the real-world relationship is between People and Accounts. Are there many People to each Account or many Accounts to each People record?

Hi Ender-