Newbie Q - can't lookup info....

This topic is 6577 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

I am trying to get one layout (based on one table) to lookup a name from another layout (based on a different table) based on an ID that I enter. I have the field for the name set to lookup from the right table... but when I enter the ID nothing happens... I'm not sure if I need to make the lookup a portal or what. The fields in the two tables are related... argh. Any help would be appreciated. I'm VERY new at this...

Basically: input guest ID into tour layout, lookup guest name (based on guest table)

The relationship is based on the ID number.

I have 2 tables: 1 is guests, other is tours.

In tours I am trying to type the guest ID and have it lookup the guest name from the guest table.

I have the guest name set to lookup (in the tours table) but it won't lookup... i think maybe I have the guest ID set wrong. It's a number based on the tour table... but I've tried it as a number based on the guest table, too... and when I do that, it won't let me put anything in. I'll attach images of the tour layout and the relationship database for you to look at. I don't think it will let me post the FM file. It may be hopelessly messy. :o

Images_of_file.pdf

True, there is usually only one primary relationship between two tables, but often it is useful to have additional relationships to filter by various criteria.

Take as an example, a calendar solution. The data for the events on a particular day would probably be stored in an Event table (or Day table) and that's primarily related as a child of the Calendar table. This relationship may work fine for a portal on the Calendar to enter Events for that Calendar, but that portal won't position the Events in a weekly or monthly view. For that, additional TOs are used for each Day slot on the weekly or monthly view, filtering each relationship to show the related Events for a particular day slot.