Server Maintenance This Week. ×

Noob Relational design question!

This topic is 6558 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

I am working on a database to store data from scientific samples and I have a question regarding the best relational design.

For example - I have a 'main' sample table that stores the lab code for each sample and subsidiary tables that contain other data, for example, patient data (name, age and so on).

Should I relate everything off the lab code primary key? So that this 'main' table will virtually be a single field containing the lab code. The other tables will therefore contain primary keys that are not use for relationships.

Or should I create more fields in the main table that relate to the primary keys in the other tables? So that the sample table would have a number of fields that each relate to each of the other tables.

Apologies if this has been answered before and if it is a complete noob question!

There's no such thing as a noob question :

Now, its up to you, but remember that your relationships can span multiple levels. There's no real reason for your main table to contain only one field, but like i said its up to you.

I'm not exactly sure what a lab is, but in your main table, you would store data that you want to be able to access from your sub tables.

For example:

A simple contact management table database might be structured as follows:

Main Table:

ID (Primary Key)

Postal Address

Postal Suburb

Postal State

Sub Table 1 (a suburbs table related to main table by postal suburb, postal state):

ID (PrimaryKey)

Postal Suburb

Postal State

Postal Code

Sub Table 2 (names - related to main table by foreign key to primary key)

ID_ref (ForeignKey)

Title

FirstName

LastName

Sub Table 3 (phone numbers - related to main table by foreign key to primary key)

ID_ref (ForeignKey)

NumberType

Number

etc etc.

Hope this helps and good luck.

~Genx