Server Maintenance This Week. ×

probably easy to implement, but I'm a beginner

This topic is 6533 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

To all that have the know how to implement what seems logically like an easy to solve problem (considering the power of this amazing program),

I have a directory of text files (~600 of them) that were typed by my dad's secretary about 10 years ago that contain, in each file, one contact's information for an address book.

Unfortunately (for me), the files are in no delimited format with which I could use a standard import to gather the data into the necessary component fields.

I have included a zipfile containing a sample of the variations of the sourcefiles that I need to parse. I tried to choose the most diverse ones so that the algorithm suggested might be over-engineered and be able to handle all, but this is just optimistic praying :

** This is what my goal is:

I would like to run through these text files (usually one contact per file, so long as it does not contain an alternate contact as in the WEBER.TXT file that is in the archive I attached herein), and pull out the components of a basic address book, provided that they exist for that record.

Such as:

Name (First, Last) or Company Name with Contact

Street Address

City, State Zip

Telephone #

Notes: (TO CONTAIN ALL EXTRANEOUS TEXT THAT REMAINS AFTER PARSING IMPORTANT DATA (ABOVE))

It does not need to be perfect, as there will be a secretary to scrub through and correct any oversights that a script may not catch.