Server Maintenance This Week. ×

data base taking up lots memory

This topic is 6526 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Hello,not sure if this is correct place for this query but couldnt find a mnore relevant area.

Im new to data base desighn and have 1st one working ok buT extremely surprised at how much memory is being used d/b is just 12 pages and just over 200 data entry and is already at 600MB

Am i DOING SOMETHING SILLY HERE ?

hello,

this is the entire folder

possibly 50 photos most reduced to aroung 50kb

each page has about 40 fields,

some sub pages holding data maybe 6 fieds in each

i initially copied folder and it was about 60MB but has simply rocketd up ...nothing wrong in its working just that it has surprised me

jacky

... Really a bad idea to store images in the actual file as far as i'm concerned - it makes data backup really hard due to the enourmous size and how sure are you about the 50kb thing?

Hello,

thanks for reply.

I am using pics that in the main (tho all will be later()are reduced in size to around 50-70 kb

I store these in a container in a record in a parts list that in turn is brought in to the main d/b screen where they are displayed as required.

Its the overall size that has surprised me and led me to believe i may be making some sort fundamental error as I am new to this.

The overall system works as I hoped for with no obvioUs problems

regards

jacky

I stumbled over this:

each page has about 40 fields

...which could point at a further normalization of the structure and perhaps indexes where they have no point at all.