Newbies Koinseb Posted June 22, 2006 Newbies Posted June 22, 2006 Hi guys, I'm trying to do something rather simple (...I thought at least).... I want to display a dialog so the user can enter a name for a "customer". If a record for this "customer" exists I want to display and edit this record, otherwise I want to create a new record with this name filled in. Here is my script: Enter Find Mode [ ] Show Custom Dialog [ Message: "Please enter name:"; Buttons: “OK”, “Cancel”; Input #1: Customer::Name, "Name:"] If [ Get (LastMessageChoice) = 1 ] Set Error Capture [ On ] Perform Find [ ] If [ Get ( LastError) > 0 ] New Record/Request Set Field [ Customer::Name ] End If End If The problem is that FM will create a new record if nothing was found (which is good) - but the name is not getting filled in :-( Any ideas? Thanks!
Inky Phil Posted June 22, 2006 Posted June 22, 2006 Hi create a text global field (G_name) and display that in your custom dialogue box Then enter find mode Then set field customer name to G_name Perform find If no find New record Set field customer name; G_name That should do it Phil
Newbies Koinseb Posted June 24, 2006 Author Newbies Posted June 24, 2006 Hi Phil, ....global field? Sounds like a smart idea :-) I will try to get it working and post back once i've got it working (...or not ;-)) Thanks!!!
Søren Dyhr Posted June 24, 2006 Posted June 24, 2006 I do on the other hand consider the use of globals exaggerated, although it might have it's place here? I have the habit of being critical to the methods of crafty developers as well as newbees, and have therefore toyed with how to avoid a global in this case. Take a look at the above scripting, it's a paused recursive script, which running thru's provides the records with ID's. There are two issues in this 1) In multiuser environment might two users create records almost simultainiously ...if an ordinary autoenter was in use would the ID's very quickly get very very large and put a strain on the indexes to send as packages over the network ...so I have chosen a "stuff the holes in the cheese" approach. 2) If a record is deleted is there a lower record ID available, why not use it? And why is it that I find globals needs to get stigmatised?? They're stored on the local machine, so all dealings with ohter fields will cause chatter over the network ...the good question is then if my WEIRD way of substantial scripting the matter, really makes cut's in this chatter or just makes it occure in another way? I'm not at present in an environment where I can measure it, but I know that I would use this tool to monitor it: http://www.entropy.ch/software/macosx/welcome.html#tcpflow I do this because "questioning things" is the engineers/developers most urgent behaviour/qualification of them all, in order to get into a topic - although it might prove to be a cul de sac, might something be learned from it anyway! --sd
Newbies Koinseb Posted June 26, 2006 Author Newbies Posted June 26, 2006 Hi Phil, ...and as expected I seem to have problems like a typical FileMaker beginner: How do I display a variable in an Input Field in a custom dialog? I can only manage to display a field from the database -( Or did I misunderstand your solution and you suggested the creation of a global field in the database??? Thanks! ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ Hi Søren, I'm from a Java/C++ background and hence usually very opposed to the usage of globals as well. It's just: For what I need and the environment where it will be used I'm perfectly fine with a global. I'm just looking for the easiest solution! Thanks for your input anyway, greatly appreciated!
Inky Phil Posted June 26, 2006 Posted June 26, 2006 Yes you will have to create the global before you can display it Phil
Newbies Koinseb Posted June 27, 2006 Author Newbies Posted June 27, 2006 Thanks Phil, I got it working now -)
Recommended Posts
This topic is 6726 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.
Create an account or sign in to comment
You need to be a member in order to leave a comment
Create an account
Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!
Register a new accountSign in
Already have an account? Sign in here.
Sign In Now