Server Maintenance This Week. ×

Is it possible to put multi-table info into 1 line item?

This topic is 6481 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

I'm still very new to FMP and just ran into a little snag when trying to figure out how to to information from multiple tables into a single line item.

Taking a look at the red tables in my ERD:

I want to create an Offering of some furniture products to a group of customers. This seemed to me like it would be a classic line item sort of deal. So I have one portal showing all the customers getting this offer and another portal showing all the products.

But then I realized that each product can have many different finishes!

At first I was thinking that I'd just have repetitive line items for each product and each one of their finishes but this is redundant and not needed because 1 quote will cover all the costs for however many finishes. Ideally, I'd have the product listed once, along with all of its finishes.

So then I was wondering if it's possible do a portal-in-a-portal... So that looking from the Offering table, you have a portal showing each product on a line and a portal on each line showing the finishes that product comes in.

Is this possible and if so, is this even a good idea?

How else should I do it?

I won't have access to FMP until Monday to try it but I would like to start the week with the best plan, forum-gods willing.

Thanks in advance!

ERD.jpg

Edited by Guest

Greetings voyeur!

Pretty advanced stuff for a 7 year old, eh?

While it's not possible to create a portal within a portal, there are some techniques that can accomplish a similar thing. However, I don't think that structure would be appropriate here.

Instead, I'd recommend either of these, depending on your business rules: