Server Maintenance This Week. ×

Searching for records from multiple files

This topic is 6474 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

Hello,

I am very new to FileMaker and to databasing in general. I have started a new job in a school where we keep student discipline records in a FileMaker database. Each new school year we clone a new file. We currently have 7 years of files. When we get a request to check if a student has a discipline history we have to open each file, go into Find mode and search for the student's last name.

I've just begin playing with FileMaker and have made a much more visually appealing layout for us to work with next year, and now my very impressed supervisor would like me to find a way to search those past years' files from within the current year's file.

I started by trying to set up a relationship to just one of the past year's files, and then making some fields on a new layout from that relationship. However, that only shows the newest record from related file, and only if the student is already in the current file.

Can anyone give me some advice on how to proceed, and if this sort of thing is possible?

Thank you,

Jonathan

Welcome Jonathan!

I've found it's much easier to manage a solution involving multiple years' data by simply keeping it all in one set of files. You would need to add a School Year field to each file to know which records belong to which years, and then filter any Finds and relationships by that School Year, but this effort is worth it. It is then an easy matter to create records for the new enrollment year, without interfereing with the existing ones.