Server Maintenance This Week. ×

Drop Down List Normalization

patrickglass

This topic is 6105 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Hello, i am very new to FileMaker and this will be my first database. I am creating a maintenance Database for our company to organise maintenance reports. I already have a complete solution in MS Access. i found filemaker and loved the idea of being to be able to do data entry over the intranet.

Now onto my situation. it seems my background in access had led me in the wrong direction. i currently have two tables,

:(:Equipment

-EquipmentID

-EquipmentTypeID

-EquipmentName

::EquipmentType

-TypeID

-TypeName

They are linked on Type Fields ie CM11 is a Continuous Miner

In access i had a combobox that would drop down and autocomplete the TypeName but on complete would fill the source field to be the index or TypeID field. in FileMaker i can do everything the same except i would have to have the drop down display the ID value rather than the text which is much less reader friendly. i have found a work around where you have a text box over top of the list and it would display the related value.

The problem arises when we want to autocomplete the drop down. with this curent method it will only autocomple for the ID number and not the type of equipment. we have tons of datafields for the rest of the database of the simular kind so a robust solution would be very welcome.

Well my real question is how are we in filemaker supposed to normalise databases if we cannot use ID's in an easy manner, should i convert all my ID fields to be text and just store everything that way, destroying all usefullness of a database. i am confused as how to get around this large situatiuon. Thanks for the time. Patrick Glass

scr_Equipment.JPG