simple xsl edit

waynemelrose

This topic is 6478 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Hi,

I'm new to xml/xsl. I'm running FMSA 7 and have my databases ready, and already using some simple custom web publishing pages. (I got that far!)

However now I just want to be able to make a simple edit function. I can't find any examples of a simple xsl file and I'm having trouble getting my head around the custom web publising guide from Filemaker.

Could someone please help!? More specifically below.

I would like to find a record with a field "JobNumber" and edit the contents of its field "ClientName"

Any help would be appreciated.

Wayne.

Use the site assistant to set up some simple XSLT pages and study these for some clues.

Also, to edit you have given us the steps you need to do:

1. -find the record you want

2. use the returned -recid to -edit

Are you trying to do this in one step?

yes.. if possible?

I have set up a simple site with the site assistant, and this is getting my through most things that i need to do, although I dont understand how the edit.xsl file works.

everything else allows you to manipulate it with a URL and add your variable there.

I have changed the output of the xsl file from html to xml, and im using curl to return the results of the request.

So I am hoping that I can create a URL which will use an xsl file to edit or "submit" information in one step.

Am I making sense?

It's probably possible but somewhat tricky, so it may be too complex. You cannot just order to FM to -edit a record that has some value in some field; you need to explicitly identify the record using the FileMaker own -recid parameter. So every standard editing process first finds the record(s) and then uses -recid's of the found record(s) for the -edit command.

You could probably do this in one step, if you first submit the new value as a token. I.e. the query will look like

page.xsl?JobNumber=XXX&token.x=new client name&-find