Avoid duplication of records - help please!

This topic is 6519 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

Hello all,

I'm a bit of a novice at building databases from scratch. Although I have took the available courses in my town, I still struggle with calculations and scripts. Right now, I'm working on a contact database and I want to avoid having the same contact entered more than once. I'm guessing it is a calculation set in the define field. What I would like is for a warning signal to come up when a new record is created and a combination of first name and last name is entered that matches a contact that is already in.

I would really appreciate some help in figuring out how to go about this. Thank you so much!

Although you could use a validation calc in the Validation section of those field definition, I don't really care for such validations. There are a couple problems:

1. Sometimes a duplicate name is just another person with the same name. If your validation is strict it might erroneously stop the entering of the second person's name. Users might resort to putting numbers or other garbage in the fields to override the validation.

2. The validation may not catch a duplicate contact if A. their name has changed, or B. the spelling is incorrect or inconsistent ("Mike" and "Michael", etc.).

3. If a message comes up during data-entry that the name is already in there, it's coming after the second record has been created and it doesn't really give the user the opportunity A. examine the other record to see if the new one is indeed a duplicate, or B. to delete the duplicate and jump to the other record.

In my opinion, it's better to give the user the opportunity to Find the contact first, using a variety of fields, then allow the creation of the new record. It's not fool-proof, but it helps.

Well, validations CAN optionally be overriden, but that doesn't solve all of those issues.