Server Maintenance This Week. ×

New user questions (long post)

This topic is 6279 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Hi everyone. I am new to filemaker and these forums. I was going to ask a pretty basic question, but after looking around for the answers a bit, I realized that I might benefit by asking some general questions.

Here's the situation: I work for a company as the IT coordinator. I do hardware and networking, not database work, but the record-keeping this guy is currently using is staggeringly inefficient. I remembered using FileMaker at another job a long time ago and thought I would take a crack at streamlining the processes in my spare time. The point is, I'm in no rush to set up my database. I downloaded the demo and started tinkering.

Well, I have the basic form that we need (sort of) to keep track of things and people. Now I am working on getting FileMaker to display this information in different ways, depending on what we need. Before I put a whole lot of time and energy into this and end up with something that's as inefficient as what I have now (wordperfect merge docs), may I ask for some general pointers about design from you all?

We provide continuing education seminars for professionals. People register for our courses, send us money and then show up. Pretty simple. There are about 5 different courses offered in 20 or so locations around the country. Most courses are only offered by themselves, but there are two offered in some cities.

Here are the things I need to be able to do:

1. Provide a daily count of the number of registrations for each city and a running total number of registrations for the year

2. After each registration is received, a confirmation postcard is sent to the person confirming their schedule and stating whether or not they have paid

3. If a person pays with a credit card, we have to send a receipt, usually by fax.