Server Maintenance This Week. ×

Dynamic, Relational Value List

CalvinFold

This topic is 6272 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

I just *know* I'm missing something obvious, but I've never done this style of value list before. Apologies in advance if I don't post my file, but it has my company name splashed all over it and it's internal...

I have two tables. One of them is designed to hold onto values to be used as a value list in the other table. The idea is if an edit is made to a value, that value changes everywhere it was used in the other table (i.e. the field value changes but the key value remains the same):

TABLE: networkPortLocationList

__kp_networkPortLocationID (primary key)

netPortLocValue (list value)

TABLE: networkAccessTable

__kp_networkAccessID (primary key)

_kf_portLocID (foreign key from networkPortLocationList)

All primary keys are "surrogate" keys.

What I can't seem to wrap my brain around is how to set up the fields in AccessTable so that each record is related to a record in PortLocation, and how the user can access the relationship easily (i.e. via popup). Many AccessTable entries can share a given PortLocation entry.

Also, any time someone changes the PortLocValue the change should cascade to any entries using that value (base on the PortLocation key).

Near as I can tell this means I can't use "Value List from Field" and other such FileMaker constructions (at least when I tried they didn't work), so I'm assuming I need a relationship set-up the right way. I'm a bit new to the use of surrugate key fields, so I keep getting tripped-up. I need to do this sort of relationship repeatedly on this project, so I need to get it right before I dupe-out the idea to other tables.

On the Access Table data entry, you will format the _kf_portLocID field to be a popup menu using a value list "Port Locations."