Table Update issue for inventory management system

Tommy Lam

This topic is 6201 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

I am new to FileMaker, :B I want to create an inventory management system for my own warehouse. Since every layout can just only related to one table occurrences. How can I update another table (CurrentStockLevel ) while inserting record in another table (Transaction) :(

Actually, I want to decide an database with following entity,

- Product (PID, product info)

- Vendor (VID, Vendor info)

- Client (CID, Client info)

- Warehouse (WID, Warehouse info) [Every Vendor and Client has his own WID]

- Invoice Master (Invoice No., invoice info, Price)

- Invoice Detail ( Invoice No, PID, Quantity)

- Delivery Note Master (DN No., DN info)

- Delivery Note Detail (DN No., Product ID, Qty)

- Transaction (Transaction ID, PID, From WID, To WID, Qty, Status) [status can be IN, OUT, MOVE, TAKE. If the status is TAKE all the record would save to another table "tempary" and compare the content with CurrentStock]

- Current Stock (WID, PID, Qty)

But when I try to create an inventory application base on the above Database decide.

I want to create a layout which allow user to input the Transaction one by one, and I have create an button which would allow the user to input import records to Transaction table, But the problem is I cannot update the Qty in CurrentStock at the same when I try to insert the records to Transaction table.

Please advise.

(Where can I find more information on this issue)

Tommy Lam

Edited by Guest
remove the Gray text

Couldn't we see what you have accomplished this far with the RG, preferably a clone of your system, because it's often a wrong move to rely to heavily on either Sum( or a GetSummary( ...instead should a Lookup Last be instated, and shown in a portal sorted with the newest record going to the top, and perhaps only one single record shown.