Server Maintenance This Week. ×

Compress Images on import

This topic is 6182 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Hi to all

I am looking for a solution to keeping a database size small by compressing images sizes on import.

As most home users that use the new digital cameras with a file size of around 5Mb and the database will hold around 100 images that creates a file size around 500Mb which will be too much to send via email.

So I am looking for a solution to this issue if anyone can offer some sound advise or point me in the right direction it would be greatly appreciated.

I hope I have been able to explain this so all can understand as I am still a newbie.

Cheers

Mac

• 2 weeks later...

On a Mac you could use:

• Automator

• Photoshop Actions

• Applescript

• FileMaker ScriptMaker

To achieve it.

The key is Photoshop Actions and ScriptMaker so you can probably achieve it using an alternative scripting method on Windows.

Maybe this will give you a lead or inspire someone else to point you to an information source.

best

Stuart

On Windows I think you'd want a plug-in for this (I don't really know alternatives on Windows). There are a couple, InsideScan, and MediaManager, the former less expensive (I think, hard to find the price; the web page still says they're working on version 2.0; you could ask them).

MediaManager seems to do just about everything possible. Or else you could just get the users to batch process their images for FileMaker import manually. There are many different ways to set up a "document" system with FileMaker. The design you use depends on many factors, size of images, when/where/how they add/use the images.