Importing Multiple file

This topic is 6085 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Hello,

I'm a Filemaker newbie but trying to learn as much as possible. I'm currently working with FM9 Advanced.

I'm looking for some help/instructions with importing multiple files into my DB. I'm trying to create a database for a project I'm working on. There are a lot of different excel sheets needed for this project (each group involved has their own with specific fields). Some of the fields are the same (phone number, user ID etc). I'm trying to use FM to import all the different files and use relationships to pull the data together to show update, changes and info needed for different parts of the project.

Here's an basic outline of the project. All help/suggestions are welcome as I'm very new at this but think FM will be the best solution given the number of people/files involved.

I will be the only one accessing the FM files, all other user work off of spreadsheets which is getting very cumbersome.

I have a DB with a list of about 800 people. All these people have specific phone number and a unique identifier (they are supposed to be unique but I'm finding some are not).

I need to import all the user information, then use the files from other people to update information on a given user.

I'm trying to use a few tables, one for each spreadsheet but some of the spreadsheets contain the same data (user names, phone number etc).

The users each need to have their info updated from each spreadsheet daily.

How can I import each of the spreadsheets and use relationships to show the necessary information for each user? I've tried using PK & FK for User & phone info but when I import into each table I can't view the updated info (for phone number/status info). It seems the 2 tables are still working independently even though I have the PK & FK's setup even using portals.

Table 1 - USER INFO (name, email, ID)