Date Conversions

This topic is 6093 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

I am rather new to FM, or at least have not touched it since v2 or so.. and I am running into a few issues which I have had trouble finding specific answers for.. any help is greatly appreciated.

First one: I am exporting data from a report sent to me, all imports peachy except the date. In the Excel file, it is written as 01-Feb-2006 and I have dates formatted in the DB as 02/01/2006. Previous imports converted the dates to the desired format, but this last one has not. I tried to conduct a search to find those records and delete them (then change the date format in Excel then reimporting them) but it won't let me search by that date format.

I found a script in the FM kbase which would seem to address the problem perfectly, but I am not savvy enough to get it to work. Any help on where to put this script or insert it or tweak it would be awesome.

The fields I am trying to convert are called:

invoice_date

payment_received

The script I found in the kbase is as follows:

Data entered as 02-DEC-96, 02 DEC 96, or 23/JAN/96 are not recognized as dates by FileMaker Pro 4.0 or FileMaker Pro 3.0, and cannot be used to perform finds, sorts, or date calculations. However, you can create a calculation that will convert your data to meaningful dates.

This solution assumes your original date field is of type Text, and that the data has been entered consistently in the format above (DD-Mon-YY, DD Mon YY, or DD/Mon/YY).

To convert your data into usable dates, define the following field:

NewDate (Calculation, Date result)=

TextToDate(Case(

Middle(OriginalDate, 4, 3) = "jan", "1",

Middle(OriginalDate, 4, 3) = "feb", "2",

Middle(OriginalDate, 4, 3) = "mar", "3",

Middle(OriginalDate, 4, 3) = "apr", "4",

Middle(OriginalDate, 4, 3) = "may", "5",

Middle(OriginalDate, 4, 3) = "jun", "6",

Middle(OriginalDate, 4, 3) = "jul", "7",