data tunneling?

This topic is 6192 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

hi, i'm having a major fm project on my hands (it seems) since i'm quite new to the software. the problem is complex, but i'll try to explain it as clearly as possible. my fm file is such a mess at the moment, that i prefer not to upload it. if needed, i will, of course.

basically my client manufactures and sells design objects: rings, boxes etc.

- there is one table for product types (example "square ring"), which includes general info, prices, designer, etc

- another table is for the single products (ex. "square ring / size 17 / blue", square ring /size 18 / blue" ...)

- there is one table for contacts

- an order form was constructed using a order line items table. you choose the client (adress etc is filled out automatically) and fill out the products that are ordered, line by line in a expanding portal. it then calculates everything needed, taxes etc.

everything was going smoothly until here. then this client realizes that they need to send invoices etc to different countries and want to have different prices for the products in different regions (not just calculated according to currency exchange rates). in the end they also want a system that calculates royalties for the designers, in local currency.

basically, i tried to solve this new problem by having a "prize zone" field in the client table. but what i can't manage it to do is to change the prizes in the line items with a script that says something like "if the prize region of the order is USA, then pick the the US prize from the product table". if i can solve this, i think everything else will follow.

do i need data tunneling or something for this. i've been reading the fm missing manual book but just can't figure it out. any help is appreciated.