Importing into multiple tables

This topic is 6105 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

I'm a noob - so, if there is an easy idoitic solution, forgive me.

I was hired to do some web work and along the way I became the filemaker setup guy. I created a form online that outputs data into a text file. My client just got filemaker and asked me to set it up for them, which I've done. The problem is I designed the data base with different tables to hold similar info. The tables are: contact info, career goals, education, and references. I can output the data any which way. Originally, it was a list of fields and their values ($field = value). I was having trouble getting that in. Eventually I just made it tab delinated but the info spans all the tables I've created. I can't figure out a way to import external file data without having to open the text file a separate time for each table. It's driving me nuts. Any help is greatly appreciated.

If you write the file, on your web server, as an xml file it will have all the data in one file, and it will have the structure to import into the separate FileMaker tables. It is not really much different from writing name:value pairs, but a heck of a lot more flexible and powerful.

It will still require separate imports. But this should not be a problem. You will need to provide the xsl stylesheets to select the data for each table's import. They can reside on the web server. The import should be scripted, so that it does what it should and appears to be a single action.

XML imports from a web-served xml file do not have to "open" the file via the operating system. It can import directly into FileMaker fields, using the xsl to select the data. The elements, attributes, and whatever fixed text you add to the xsl will appear in the FileMaker Import dialog just as if they were field names (or column names), with the usual options.