Server Maintenance This Week. ×

controlling iPhoto with Filemaker

This topic is 6023 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

I am a doctor and have written a simple Filemaker database that stores patient information. I keep the patient's xrays in iPhoto because I need to zoom, pan and rotate the images when I look at them. Is there a way to open a patient's xrays in iPhoto by clicking on a link in the patient's Filemaker record?

Thanks for your help!

Andreas

While iPhoto has substantial applescript implementation, and Filemaker can perform applescript based on values or calc's in the current record. Would I say resizing isn't the toughest task at hand. Image events can do the same with much less overhead, say put a certain cropping and resize into another containerfield.

I say this because you are likely to spend some time digesting the iPhoto library, and make it march to the beat of your drum. While imageevents/SIPS are pretty easy to script:

Although this is meant to be a droplet, could it easily be an embedded applescript instead:

http://www.macosxhints.com/article.php?story=2004092804461334&query=resize%2Bphoto

--sd

Yes, if you've stored the image in FileMaker [x] Store only a reference to the file, you have the full file path to the file. You can see it with the calculation, result text, GetAsText ( container field ). It will be 3 lines, the image dimensions, a relative path, and an absolute path (path's in FileMaker syntax).

But it's even simpler with AppleScript, which by default sees the Mac syntax file path to an image stored as reference (can also set the image from a file path). When run in a Perform AppleScript script step, this AppleScript will open an image file in whatever application is considered to be the owner of the file. If you need to specify iPhoto, just put "iPhoto" instead of "Finder"

tell current record

try

set m to cell "theImage"

tell application "Finder" to open m

end try

end tell