Too Many Calculation Fields? (Or: my database hangs a lot)

This topic is 5943 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Hi everyone,

I've been working on this database for a few months (never used FM before, all self-taught) and now I'm putting in all the functionality to provide a month-by-month breakdown of the financial side of things.

To do this I am using summary fields that read through entries in two other tables (Invoices and Expenses) to determine how much of each relates to each month. I then have set up a whole series of stacking calculations which determine how much of each was present at each month, taking into account the previous months. And so on and so forth.

All in all I've created about 70 calculation fields to handle all of those. There's probably an easier way, I'm sure. It all works pretty fine, except when I try to add the calculation fields for recognised revenue. I can add a few of them, but when I put in the formulas for every single month, the whole database lags out. So badly in fact, that I have to end the process in the Task Manager.

I can post it up if I clean it up enough first, but the basic premise I want to know is: is there a point at which too many calculation fields will kill the database, and have I reached it? Do any of you have experience with this sort of thing, and how did you solve it?

Even hints as to how to debug it would be greatly appreciated, as would all replies. Thanks in advance.

• 2 weeks later...

Hi DJ, thanks for the reply! Sorry, I would have said something sooner but I didn't get an email notification about it. Odd. It is all locally hosted though, so there's no net connection slowing it down.

Anyway I've made a few changes to the way it works to hack out a lot of dead wood, and I'm down to less than 50 fields. The reason there are so many is because it does a month by month breakdown. So for each month (12 months in total) there must be a field for: