Server Maintenance This Week. ×

Convert decimals to fractions

This topic is 5979 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

I am a woodworker trying to make a cutlist for a project. I've been away from FM for a while, so sorry for the beginner-like question.

Using FM7, I'd like to enter data into a field as so (15 1/8) and have it stay that way. I'd, of course, like my calculations to work too!

As an added bonus is it possible to have the option to enter data as a decimal and let FM convert it for me (sometimes it's just easier to enter 15.75 but I don't always remember the decimal values for 1/8's & 1/16's)

A year ago, I probably would have known the answer, but I haven't entered "Layout Mode" in a while.

Thanks.

Bob

Look here:

http://www.fmforums.com/forum/showtopic.php?tid/170725/post/179444/hl/fraction/fromsearch/1/#179444

Here slightly rewritten below to account for integers better, and put a Let wrapper around it.

Let([

integer=Int(number);

numerator=Mod(number;1)

];

Case(integer;integer &" ";"")&

Case(

Int(numerator*64) < 1;"";

Mod(Int(numerator*64);32) = 0; "1/2";

Mod(Int(numerator*64);16) = 0;Div(Int(numerator*64);16) & "/4";

Mod(Int(numerator*64);8) = 0; Div(Int(numerator*64);8) & "/8";

Mod(Int(numerator*64);4) = 0; Div(Int(numerator*64);4) & "/16";

Mod(Int(numerator*64);2) = 0; Div(Int(numerator*64);2) & "/32";

Int(numerator*64) & "/64")

)

Mikhail Edoshin ( http://edoshin.skeletonkey.com/calculating/index.html ) also has a more robust set of CFs that'll provide a more accurate fraction approximation...but it's less useful for woodworking, because it's hard to find 9/11ths on that tape measure...

On top of that, search for "fraction" here in the forums, it's come up before and various solutions offered.

hth

Colin

Edit: if you're really using FM7, you'll prob. want to use a variant of the original written code in the first link. Let [] won't work in 7.

Edited by Guest
added postscript re: FM7