Server Maintenance This Week. ×

Creating Runtimes that talk to other data sources - can it be done?

This topic is 5702 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Hi,

I am a complete newbie here (been a member for about 3 minutes) but have spent some time lurking as a non-member reading all your posts, and you all seem very knowledgeable, so I am hopeful of some help. (I apologise for the lengthy email, but I wanted to include as much detail as poss.)

Although it seems that this problem has been alluded to before (http://fmforums.com/forum/showtopic.php?tid/196394/ ), I cannot find a solution (Forgive me if I have missed it - please direct me to the page if so).

I am developing a FM solution that I originally wanted to distribute as a runtime. The reasons for runtime were:

1) Ease of use

2) I am charging a subscription fee so it helps if it doesn’t look like a FM solution (although I am aware that the splash screen might give the game away!)

3) Ability to install on any machine with minimal cost (just a new plug in license from Dacons for Mailit)

The problems I have are these:

1) I am struggling to create a runtime that can connect to external databases (tables that will be hosted online). I need this functionality as I would like to allow groups of Runtime users access to common tables (Diaries for multiple users from one company, for example)

2) I have realised that my 'ScheduleEvents plug in '(I am using Scriptfire and although I have found others available, they all seem to have the similar limitation) does not function if the application is closed when the event is due to be scheduled.

I think, therefore, I need the answers to the following:

1) Can a runtime be installed on a client machine, but use tables from a host?

2) If so, how? (I keep getting the error that the eternally hosted table (referenced as HAC.usr in my test runtime) is not found in the runtime directory)