Server Maintenance This Week. ×

Lending Library Template- Need Help

This topic is 5539 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

I am a college student working for a department in the school and we would like to keep a running check out system for our equipment. Lending Library is definitely the template that I think we should be using however my boss would prefer to make it easier.

I'd like to know if there is any way that I can go to a 'contacts' record and checkout an 'asset' to the contact instead of the other way around. Essentially, my boss feels like it would be easier to go to the student's profile and check out several things instead of going to each individual item and checking them out to the student.

If that is not possible with this template, than my next question would be if there is any way to unlock the checkout button on the 'asset' page so that whatever is in that record can be checked out more than once without being checked back in.

hopefully those questions made sense haha.

Thanks for any and all help!

-Cage

It would certainly be possible to do it the other way around, basically "pick the asset" instead of "pick the person."

I'm not that crazy about FileMaker templates. It may just be a personal difference in the way I do things. In this case their "check out" routine consists of 3 scripts, all named "Process Check Out." While this makes sense at some level, I would at least name them 1, 2, 3, just to decrease the confusion.

The current 1st "Process Check Out" script checks the availability of the asset, then, if available, sets the Asset ID into a global. That isn't going to happen right away if you "pick the asset" instead. What you would do in that case would be to only show the Assets that are available, during the "select" process, via a Find or portal (depending on how many and how you want to do it).