Accessing IWP from outside the local network

This topic is 5448 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

The situation so far:

I have a Filemaker database, which is always open on a desktop machine that is always turned on, at my office. The database has IWP enabled. When connected to the same network as this machine, I am able to access the database through my web browser on other machines.

Here is what I am hoping to accomplish:

I would like to somehow be able to take my laptop home, and access the same database live through my web browser from home (on a different network).

I feel like this is probably very easy, but I have no experience in Filemaker or in network admin, so any help is appreciated. I am working with FM Pro 9 Advanced, and running Mac OSX Leopard.

Thanks!

Hi,

I don't think this is something you can easily achieve. You would need at least a fixed IP, dyndns address or something like that.

The only (secure) way I can think of to connect to your network is via a VPN tunnel... It would then act as if you're connected locally to your network.

• Newbies

I was worried that might be the case. Can you point me to any good resources that demonstrate how to properly set up a VPN on a Mac? I've started to look into this already: I have purchased iVPN to allow me to create a server on Mac OSX (rather than buying Mac OSX server), but beyond actually owning the software, I've made little progress.

You don't need to set up a VPN server on your mac at home, all you need at home is a client to connect to the remote network.

The remote network needs to be configured for VPN, and that is the hard part. You would probably need a VPN box, a subscription with your ISP, and a dyndns address. It can come pretty expensive if you're only gonna use it for accessing a database..