Round to a 5 or 9

Goetch

This topic is 5202 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Hi I am a relative newbie with file maker... We quite a few price lists here based on simple calculations .... Example... cost x markup ....

I am trying to get a round function that looks at only the last digit of a number and either rounds up to 5 or rounds up to 9 .. example 532 I want to look only at the "2" and round it up to a 5 .....

Forgive me for my ignorance......... I have no idea how I would go about this as I said I am a newb and any help would be great...

• 3 weeks later...

Not sure why you would want to do that, but this formula should see you started:

Let(

N = [YOUR NUMBER]

;

Case(

Right( N ; 1 ) < 5 ; Left( N ; Length( N ) - 1 ) & 5 ;

Right( N ; 1 ) > 5 ; Left( N ; Length( N ) - 1 ) & 9 ;

N

)

)

That formula can only handle whole numbers though

I dont think we have enough information for a more finely tuned calculation.

For example what about 0 and what about after the decimal?

Here is another calc that only takes the integer and treats 0 to round to 5. You can tweak it for your rules.

Let ( [ x = Int ( YourField );

y = Right ( x; 1 )

]; x - y +  5 + Case ( y > 5; 4 )

)