Lending library check in help

This topic is 5171 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

I am very new to Filemaker and am attempting to create a lending library. I work for a small television production and am trying to manage the props that go out to the various set/bays.

My problem is this: Some props have multiple numbers, and can therefore be divided and lent to more than one bay. THe main problem occurs when I check the prop back in. When I do this, it automatically selects the first prop checked out. This may not always be the first one back in. Is there a way to assign the history assets that are checked out a number, so that script can be written to coincide with that check out?

I apologize if this has been covered before, but I couldn't find it anywhere. Thank you in advance for any help that is offered.

Basically, if the Prop has multiple numbers, then they need to be in the database, and they need to go out with the object, and come back in with it ( :)-).

If a "prop" was split, then there would need to be 2 records, like a join table, in the check out/in table, each with the common ID and each its own unique sub-IDs.

If the script is grabbing always the 1st, then it must just be looking at the first one of the props multiple possible numbers.

• Newbies

Thank you for the quick response. As I am very new to this, I do have a couple of questions. Can there be more than 1 child table(I am assuming this is the same as a join table. If not, please correct me.) connected to do this? (I have attached a pdf picture of what my db looks like.) We would need to keep the history table, so we could track the prop's last bay(contact) in case it is not checked back in. Any help is greatly appreciated.

Props_Lending_Library_example.pdf