Server Maintenance This Week. ×

Security

This topic is 4973 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

I just got FilemakerGo, and think this is a great step forward. I had tried to use FMtouch, but it was so hard to work with, that I gave up on it.

I am a physician, and use Filemaker for my Medical records and prescription writing. My main concern (other than the missing printing feature, which I assume will be coming if we pester them enough) is security. FMtouch had database encryption. Filemaker support just informed me that FilemakeGo does not. In fact, none of the Filemaker Pro databases can have encryption.

My question is this: How secure is the data on FilemakerGo, and Filmaker Pro in general?

FM Go is a version of the FMP client. The FMP file is encrypted so the data cannot be viewed in a text editor. I do not know the strength of the encryption.

With files hosted in FMS the data can also be encrypted between the server and the client with SSL.

As with all things, if the data is confidential or valuable, don't share it and don't copy it.

As for printing, it's a platform limitation. Steve Jobs has already said it's coming.

This is what I got from FMP support:

"Answer is FileMaker Server 11 has SSL and data encryption I apologize if I did not make that clear, since you do not share you data over the web then SSL is not what you will use, but you can still use the data encryption feature within the FileMaker Server 11/FileMaker Server 11 Advanced. By adding using data encryption within the FileMaker Server 11/FileMaker Server 11 Advanced product this is adding extra security to your already set passwords on your database."

This seems to be saying that normal FMP files are not encrypted, and hence at risk for data extraction by hackers. Am I right or wrong?

Thanks for your help,

Fed

You might want to take a look at this white paper: Whitepaper fm7 security.

In regards to the .fm7 file format (p.8):