Server Maintenance This Week. ×

FMS11 + WAMP + Win7 + Joomla! = one hot mess...

This topic is 4972 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

Hello, FMForums community. I am completely new to FileMaker, and learning FileMaker just became the cornerstone of my career, so you guys probably aren't getting rid of me anytime soon.

Let me explain. I'm a college student (computer science major) that managed to land a job as a systems administrator at a small business. The owner is a close family friend. Since I had proven my usefulness to him on several occasions by keeping the shop's computers up and going whenever there was a problem, when he heard that I have problems at my job, he decided to (finally) take me on-board and let me work for him.

Our company buys and sells plastic injection molding machinery and parts, and we have been using FileMaker since the Nutshell days. The owner used to develop and maintain our database, but these days he is so busy with every other aspect of running the company that he doesn't have time to work on the database anymore. That's where I come in - he wants me to learn FileMaker.

My first major project is going to be getting parts of our database to dynamically display on our website using FileMaker's PHP API. I want to use Joomla! as a CMS, and that's where things are getting kinda sticky. I'm installing all this software on my workstation (running Windows 7 Ultimate x64) for testing purposes - there are no 'servers' involved, per se, at this point.

At first, I installed FMS11, and it worked fine. Then, I tried to install Joomla!, and every time, something just wouldn't work - usually something involving the SQL server. Well, to simplify things, I decided to install WAMP. WAMP refused to work properly, for reasons that I can't remember (but that I know involved MySQL).