RE: Concatenate filtered Portal

cwest91

This topic is 4820 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Hi there,

I am a teacher in Richmond that is trying to design a database to improve the efficiency with which I can complete my report cards and I have been tinkering around with filemaker (after moving away from apple numbers) trying to streamline my process.

Currently I have a "students" table that is joined to "Assignments" table through a "grades" table. I give the student a grade for a particular assignment and that creates a record in the grades table and based on the grade each student is assigned a comment for their report card.

On the "students" layout I have a filtered Portal that shows the related records for each student for each subject.

This works great if I'm looking at the records on-sceeen. I can easily see how students did on each assignment for each subject.

What I am trying to do is to take those comments for each subject and put them on a layout to print there report cards. I have tried putting a portal on the "Print Report Card" layout but this is not ideal because some of the comments are 1 line and some are 3 lines. This creates very odd spacing since it appears that you cannot slide the records within a portal to erase unnecessary space. (Ideally I would also like to add bullets to each comment)

I figured I could create a new calculation field called "Math Comments Term 2" and somehow concatenate the comments that appear in the in the filtered list for each subject and place the concatenated field on the print layout... I have tried everything that I could think of but have not had any luck...

I'm thinking I could use a script to do this and have it loop through all the related records and concatenate them in a field but this seems like it would be a very inefficient way of doing this because I would have to do it for each student for each subject...