Server Maintenance This Week. ×

Very slow "constrain" step on 8 record found set

This topic is 3515 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Hi everyone,

I am new to FileMaker, but have a long history in other DB related programming/systems/etc.

We have a number of existing MySQL databases for our other in-house systems and web apps, and I wanted to get a chance to see how FileMaker could pull in some of that data to integrate with new solutions or to just do some reporting against that data.

So far, so good, things are working well. However, I am puzzled by the VERY slow performance of a particular find request I am trying to script.

For the Tables in question, all of which are ESS/ODBC to MySQL, we have a Names table with basic constituent information, a Lists table with an entry for each particular list they are on, and a giving_summary table that summarizes their giving in a number of different categories, this last table has an entry for each constituent for each giving category.

All tables are linked on the constituent ID code, from the Names table to the Lists table and from the Names table to the giving_summary table. All of these are one-to-many from Names to each other table.

So, I do a find request for the List in question and it returns a found set of constituents very quickly, and the layout rendering them based on the Names table works well. However, in this case, I want to also only consider giving from one particular category.

I first tried to alter the find request so it included not only the List specification but also the giving category, but that Find Request was taking forever. So, I thought, since the query for just the List returned instantly it would be far faster to first get thet Found Set and then constrain IT against the giving categories. However, this Constrain step also causes the query to take a LONG time to complete.