FMS and Corrupt database

This topic is 4481 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Hey all,

I've been running a FMS locally for about 5 years with no issues. We have an XServe and a large database with about 20 users and a ton of data. Our salespeople access it remotely from home on their laptops and via FileMaker Go.

We recently merged with another company and are in the process of moving them to our FileMaker solution. For a short term solution, I installed a Mac Mini Server running 10.7 in their office (they're in SC and we're in FL) connected to a 1.5Mbit T1 line (not fast but about the best they're going to get in that area...and the same that we have here). To convert them, I made a clone of our database and imported their data into it, matching the appropriate fields from Salesforce and Quickbooks.

I worked with the file for a couple of weeks and everything was fantastic. A week ago, I installed the equipment, loaded the database into FileMaker Server and let her rip. Everything SEEMED fine until last Friday when layout elements and value lists began to disappear. I pulled all the backups but they were damaged beyond repair. Recover wouldn't open them. I'm not too concerned about the data because they only had a week to enter new stuff and didn't do much, and I had a copy saved from before I put it on their server.

Every time I attempt to recover the file, It tells me that the account was tampered with or damaged. I spent all day Friday and today trying to run down the possible causes of the corruption but keep coming up short. My file pre-upload tests fine and we're running the same solution in our office with no problems. I thought it must have been a fluke, so I uploaded it back to the server. I connected and started working. Within a few minutes, I lost the connection and when I pulled the file to test it, it was corrupt and kept hanging the Filemaker app causing me to force quit it.