Viewing and accessing PDF files.

This topic is 8400 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

Please excuse me if this is a basic question.

I work for a homebuilder and we are trying to make a database of all our paper documents (contracts, houseplans, etc.) saved as Adobe Acrobat PDF documents. We would like to be able to find and view the pdf documents from the Filemaker database. (Eventualy we would then like to make this avilable to our off-site employees over the web.)

How do I include a "link" to the pdf file from the database to be able to find and view the document? What may be the best way to organize this?

I'm using Filemaker Pro 5 and Acrobat 5 on a Powermac G4.

I'm just starting to learn this so please include as many details as possible.

Thank you very much!

• 2 weeks later...

Hi Stephen,

I took a look at your database and it's quite a straightforward one to put into a web format - no relationships to relationships or long scripts!

My thoughts based on the way we've been using filemaker on the web here are:

the home page can work very much as it does now, but to save having to change it as you add/finish developments, you could make a popup menu based on a value list for "developments". If you ever need to find by customer, or to find available units, you could make that a separate search.

Your search could deliver a very similar page to the one it does now and still click through to the full details. You can make them read only or let people amend them as you wish.