Server Maintenance This Week. ×

Find Script to get the most profitable sales

This topic is 4269 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

I was wondering how to accomplish that. I got a set of records, each with an item name and type, the purchase and sale price and the calculated net profit. I would like to make a script that finds the 10 most profitable sales and display them on a repeated field (?) (I am not sure about the last part). Anyone can point me towards the right lines of code. I am very new to scripting unfortunately.

I tried this, where "T_ItemName" is supposed to be the repeating field (10) that should display the top ten, but it doesn't work:

[*]Perform Find [ Specified Find Requests: Find Records; Criteria: D3 Database::DE_Sale Price: “>1” ] [ Restore ]

[*]Sort Records by Field [ Descending; D3 Database::DE_Profit ]

[*]Replace Field Contents [ D3 Database::T_ItemName; Current contents ] [ No dialog ]

Thanks in advance.

You don't want to use repeating fields! They are a vestigial remainder from before FileMaker was relational. They have their place, but this is not it.

Create a new Table Occurrence of your table called D3Profits. Relate it to your original table with a Cartesian (X) relationship. (With a Cartesian relationship, the fields related don't matter. The relationship finds all the records in the related TO.). Sort the relationship by DE_Profit (descending).

Now create a portal to D3Profits in your original layout and set it to show 10 rows. Populate the portal with D3Profits::T_ItemName. You could also put D3Profits::DE_Profit in the portal, so you can see not only the items, but their profit margins.

Okay, I think I got it right, up until a certain point at least.

I created a new table (D3 Profits) and connected it via relationship to the other table (D3 Database) and I sorted it by DE_Profit. I also created a portal with the relevant fields but: