Server Maintenance This Week. ×

FileMaker Server Beginner Questions

TravisB

This topic is 4102 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Hey Guys,

I have a couple quick newbie questions that I was unable to find from the FM site and searching around. Im pretty new to FM so these are probably pretty basic questions.

I have been looking at FM to implement in our office for about the last year or so, have done a trial on a couple computers and feel comfortable that I will be able to implement what we need.

Questions:

1) We currently have 10 computers - my understanding is that they just all need FMP and they can all communicate with the same database but to have over 10 users we would need FM Server?

2) It sounds as if you only need one FM Server to host the FM database and all computers will have FMP - so for example in our current situation of 10 users we would have 10 FMP licenses and one FM Server license?

3) Assuming #2 is correct, you create the database on FMP/FMP Advanced and then move it to whatever computer/server is running the FM Server?

4) I will be designing the database on a laptop that will not be connected to the network at all times. The network will be LAN with no cloud capabilities at first. So when designing I would back up the database, load it onto my laptop where I work on it from and then load it back onto the server computer/into FM Server. Will that be an issue?

5) We will not have a dedicated server at first but rather run the database from a workstation (desktop computer). It will not be a dedicated workstation but rather someone will always be working on that computer at the same time as everyone is accessing the database. Will this be an issue?