Please Help, PNG resolution problem when resizing

This topic is 3969 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

Thanks for taking the time to look at this and help me out. I am a graphic designer in Miami creating a filemaker database for an online clothing company's website. I am attempting to create an automated system in which our customers will be able to choose a certain "shirt style", "color" and once those parameters are met, they will then be able to choose a "shirt design" to superimpose over their selected shirt style and color. 

My problems begin when attempting to resize the "shirt designs" to fit to scale on the desired "shirt style" ... Both "shirt style" png files and "shirt design" png files are formatted in RGB and at 300 dpi ... When I attempt to use filemaker to resize any of my "shirt design" files (1000+ and counting) using the CNS Image plugin, the file will automatically resize the file, but ALSO downgrade my "shirt design" png files dpi to 72 making the Art look extremely pixelated on the 300dpi "shirt style" file!!! 

I do not understand how this could be happening as I am shrinking a 600x600 pixel 300 dpi file (before resizing) down by 1/3 while attempting to keep the dpi constant at 300. If anything the dpi of the file should INCREASE when resizing down! I do not understand why this would happen or if this is a glitch with the CNS Image Plugin - resize command. It is becoming an extremely frustrating problem for me and I would appreciate any help. Thanks again for your time.

Looking forward to hearing from you, 

Mark