Checkbox sets and excel

This topic is 3988 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Hi all.

I am new to filemaker, so excuse me if my question might be really rudimentary. 

I 'd like to use excel for date input, in the beginning at least, since most members of my company are well versed with it. 

I am trying to make sure I create an excel spreadsheet that will be as close a match as it can be for my database table.

And I have the following questions:

How do replicate input fields such as checkbox sets and radio button sets? That is how will filemaker recognize the convention and input it as if it were done locally with checkboxes and/or radio buttons.

What about fields that are autocreated by filemaker, I suppose I should just leave them blank, right?

I'll start with a disclaimer that I'm no expert.  I do know enough about Filemaker to answer your questions though.

Radio button and checkbox sets in Filemaker come from value lists, its only an interface item, and does not change the field in the table.  Only the value or values selected are stored in the record, so in Excel you will want to make sure you only store a value that is on your value list in Filemaker (if you don't it will still import just fine).  For multiple values, as in the case with checkboxes you will want your value's in the Excel cell to be either return or comma separated, Filemaker stores them return separated but I believe a comma separated list within a cell will import to a checkbox field correctly.

With Filemaker "auto-enter" fields, you have a choice at the time of import for Filemaker to auto-enter those values or not, it depends if you want to create them outside of filemaker and import them or have filemaker create them for you at time of import.

My advice as far as data entry would be to make a layout that closely resembles what your uses are used to in excel (I did the same thing) and have them enter directly into the Filemaker database.

Good luck.