Plastic fails to load on FMS

This topic is 3866 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

Hi, I'm new to using the Plastic plugin under FMS. I placed it in the specified /library/filemaker server/database server/extensions folder, but it kept showing up as Not Loaded. I thought it might be a permissions problem, so I changed the owner, group, and permissions as follows:

Owner: fmserver

Group: fmsadmin

Permissions: RWX,R-X,R-X. 

When I did this, the plugin disappeared form the list of server plugins altogether. I have tried stopping and starting FMS, reinstalling the plugin (including re-downloading it), reverting the permissions back to how they were at the beginning - but under no circumstances will the plugin show up in the server plugins list. 

FMS 12.0.4, Mac OS X Server 10.8.2, Latest download of Plastic plugin. 

Thanks,

Bob

• 3 weeks later...

Hi Bob,

Which version of Java do you have on your server machine? 360Works plugins require a 32-bit Java to load properly, but FileMaker Server 12 only installs a 64-bit Java on Mac OS X machines by default. Most of the time you have to manually install an update to Java SE 6 from Apple to get it back on Mac OS X.

Another possibility is the plist file that holds the list of plugins to show in the Admin Console could be corrupted. The only way I know to restore this file is to reinstall FileMaker Server. If you try this option, make sure you delete the FileMaker Server folder after uninstalling and before reinstalling. The plist file is hidden inside of that directory. 

• 1 month later...
Hi,

I'm facing problem in 360Works RemoteScripter plug-in installation in IWP.

I'm using FileMaker Server 12 running on Windows Server 2008 R2 (64 bit) computer. I'm using Java 7 update 25 (Java 1.7.0_25-b17).