Breadcrumbs and Dropdown Lists

pctechtv

This topic is 3872 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

I am new to FileMaker and I am loving every moment of it. It is so powerful. I have took some training (online) and have been reading on best practices and other related topics. My solutions for my business are coming along, but I am stuck on some areas. I have constructed a database that will collect information for my business. This information will have Topic and Subtopics. It was suggested to me that I try a setup like this.

INFORMATION------<TOPICLIST>-------INFORMATION_Topic

INFORMATION::pk_information = TOPICLIST::fk_infoparent

INFORMATION_Topic = TOPICLIST::fk_infochild

INFORMATION and INFORMATION_Topic are both Tabel Occurrences with the same data source table. TOPICLIST is a join table that allows the Many to Many relationship. This was a stretch for me to understand at first but once I played with it a bit it made very good sense. I fully understand now and have been able to get it all working well. I learned a lot and I am pleased.