Server Maintenance This Week. ×

Invitation/Contact Database

This topic is 3751 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

Hello everyone,

I am pretty new to Filemaker, and I am trying to create a database for my job.

We do a lot of parties, and we need to invite a long list of people. What that's entailed thus far is a bunch of Excel spreadsheets. I want to make it easier by creating a Filemaker database based off of Outlook contacts, but categorize them. Importing the information from Outlook is easy, but I've run into problems when I want to categorize. I'll give you an example. 

If we have 500 contacts, and some are actors, some are managers, some are agents, some are on the west coast, some are on the east coast, etc....I want to say, "Let's invite all the actors and agents on the west coast" and have it spit out a list to me. Unfortunately, the issue I've run into is I've used the check boxes to essentially "tag" people, but it will only give me those who are categorized as agent AND actor AND west coast - not agent OR actor AND west coast...if that makes sense.

I'm probably doing a pretty terrible job at explaining this, but I'm happy to answer any questions. I think Filemaker will the the thing to help me do this, but I'm not sure how to go about it....

Thanks in advance. 

Don't worry, you explained it just fine!

In Find mode, what you want to do is create two Requests (Control-N, or the menu Requests -> Add New Request):

1) Find Agents AND West Coast

2) Find Actors AND West Coast

Then Perform the Find. This can also be scripted (press New... in the Perform Find script step)

That should do it! New Requests in a Find are treated like OR statements, or essentially two different queries combined into one. Note that you can also choose to "omit" a find request, in case you, say, wanted to find all Agents on the West Coast that were NOT Actors.

Good luck, and welcome to Filemaker!

• Newbies