Server Maintenance This Week. ×

Server hosting

This topic is 3677 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

I am not sure if this is the right place to ask this question and if it is please let me know:

I currently have 2 filemaker solutions hosted by FMS13 on a dedicated server my hospital division purchased. Currently it only runs the filmmaker server program. 

My division also wants to run an oracle database off the same server but I am wondering if it is a good idea to do that. Problem is purchasing another dedicated machine for the oracle database is very costly. I am wondering if anyone has any ideas or tips about running two different programs on a dedicated server simultaneously. 

Sorry I am new to this whole server networking stuff.

Thanks

Don't do it.

Most of the arguments that you will get will about the technical / performance and most will say: "a robust server can handle both tasks"

But my angle (and from the best practices) has to do with risk management.  If either the FM solution or the Oracle solution is somewhat critical, then do not combine them on the same machine, or risk taking them both down at the same time.

If you do combine them, make sure to have the proper restore procedures in place to restore one or the other, or both in case the machine does fail.

Don't do it.

Most of the arguments that you will get will about the technical / performance and most will say: "a robust server can handle both tasks"

But my angle (and from the best practices) has to do with risk management.  If either the FM solution or the Oracle solution is somewhat critical, then do not combine them on the same machine, or risk taking them both down at the same time.

If you do combine them, make sure to have the proper restore procedures in place to restore one or the other, or both in case the machine does fail.